Search perimenopause and menopause experiences

Share and compare your perimenopause or menopause experience with other women. Explore similar symptoms & effective treatment stories

Filter experiences

Reviewer age

Stage

Community reviews

I’m post menopausal
Started 8-10 years ago
🇬🇧 United Kingdom
  •  today
59 years old

I began perimenopause around 48 and after around 8 years decided I needed help with brain fog, severe anxiety and confusion. I was assessed by my surgery for hrt very quickly but I think incorrectly as I was given a sequential HRT that basically started me on a journey of very heavy and long periods which I'd never had and wasn't expecting now. I'm now settled with estrogen gel and progesterone tablet. I still have night sweats and wake around 3am, palpitations skin crawling, weight gain and a short fuse but none of them as debilitating as they had been.

Symptoms

Hot flushes, sweating

11 more

Treatments

Exercise

Used HRT?

Yes, I'm currently using HRT

0 helpful

I’m perimenopausal
Started 1-3 years ago
🇬🇧 United Kingdom
  •  today
48 years old

I started around 44 / 45 years and mostly it was my brain fog and emotional 3 days of falling apart that led me down the perimenopause route as it just wasn’t me - even in stressful situations - I never felt that desperate end of the world and tearfulness (for someone who is prone to happy tears!!) I still have the same symptoms, but I do manage them and have supportive friends. My husband is so supportive and the best reset for my moods works for him as when he is loving and physically affectionate and patient and not rushed - we have the best sex, and I feel so loved!! That’s the best HRT!! Sorry just being honest!! I take a lot of supplements and can tell the difference when I don’t. And the ‘it will pass’ is always on my mind.

Symptoms

Depressive mood

10 more

Treatments

Exercise

2 more

Used HRT?

Yes, I'm currently using HRT

0 helpful

Unsure if perimenopausal
Started less than 1 year ago
🇩🇪 Germany
  •  today
49 years old

Symptoms

Hot flushes, sweating

12 more

Treatments

Exercise

2 more

Used HRT?

No

0 helpful

I’m perimenopausal
Started 1-3 years ago
🇬🇧 United Kingdom
  •  1 day ago
48 years old

46 started to have brain fog & feeling very tired, waking in the night. Started HRT at 46 definitely did take the edge off.

Symptoms

Hot flushes, sweating

22 more

Treatments

Exercise

Used HRT?

Yes, I'm currently using HRT

0 helpful

I’m post menopausal
Started less than 1 year ago
🇬🇧 United Kingdom
  •  1 day ago
42 years old

I was 32 when I started experience really heavy periods. I was diagnosed with adenomyosis at age 41 and three months later was given a full laparoscopic hysterectomy. I went straight into surgical menopause and had to wait 4 weeks for HRT. The night sweats and flushes were horrendous, but now I’m on oestrogel I very rarely suffer from them. I am however constantly tired, and my brain sometimes forgets how to work. They found endo when they completed my hysterectomy so I should be taking progesterone but I’ve found it makes me feel much worse. I do have to look out for endo symptoms and compete daily breast checks to make sure everything is as it should be.

Symptoms

Hot flushes, sweating

12 more

Treatments

N/A

Used HRT?

Yes, I'm currently using HRT

0 helpful

I’m post menopausal
Started 10+ years ago
🇬🇧 United Kingdom
  •  1 day ago
60 years old

I started my perimenopause journey when I was 38 with hot sweats. Early 2018 when I was approaching 54, I had a mental breakdown. I had been 18months period free. My GP reluctantly prescribed Elleste duet sequential which helped with my mental health but my periods returned every 4 weeks. I was referred to a gynaecologist September 2023(I was almost 60)as I had thickening of the womb lining. I was told I should have been prescribed continual HRT as my periods had stopped! I was then fitted with a Merina progesterone coil and now use Everol estrogen patches changed twice a week. I now feel like I have my life back and can function normally.

Symptoms

Hot flushes, sweating

24 more

Treatments

CBT

5 more

Used HRT?

Yes, I'm currently using HRT

0 helpful

I’m perimenopausal
Started not sure
🇬🇧 United Kingdom
  •  1 day ago
50 years old

Looking back I think I probably started peri-menopause 8 years ago around 42/43. Periods were getting heavier, clotting and I was using 2 forms of sanitary products and still leaking. GP said it was probably to do with menopause and suggested I ask my mum when she started but nothing else offered other than advice to take ibuprofen. Mood was really up and down too. Put it down to job/kids and partner - if I knew then what I know now, I would have started HRT earlier as I think the medical benefits alone outweigh the risks for me. I started on gel and progesterone pill 3 months ago (I still have periods) and the overarching feeling is that of more stable mood. I am due another review shortly as 3 months is the minimum time to see benefits but I will stay on this path - felt it was a big step and I did question whether I was ‘bad’ enough to warrant going on HRT - but the accounts I follow have compelling evidence for many health benefits so I’m staying on it. Plus, it felt like a big thing to start but really once you start and it works well, it’s just rubbing some gel on my arms and a pill at night.

Symptoms

Irritability

7 more

Treatments

Exercise

2 more

Used HRT?

Yes, I'm currently using HRT

0 helpful

I’m perimenopausal
Started 1-3 years ago
🇪🇸 Spain
  •  1 day ago
56 years old

Symptoms

Hot flushes, sweating

16 more

Treatments

Vaginal moisturiser

2 more

Used HRT?

No

1 helpful

I’m perimenopausal
Started 3-5 years ago
🇬🇧 United Kingdom
  •  1 day ago
44 years old

I think I first started having symptoms very early- in my mid 30’s. It really began with very bad insomnia and anxiety. But when I went to talk to my GP about perimenopause (having done some research myself) I was told it doesn’t exist. Over the next decade my symptoms just mounted, I was given various anti depressants and tried dietary changes. Also excercise. Although these things helped me generally feel better, they didn’t stop the long list of symptoms from growing. By 43 I was really struggling. I realized I was putting of climbing stairs because I was in constant pain from aching joints, had sever migraine, my periods had gotten so heavy I was constantly bleeding through pads and clothing. Again I tried to get help from my GP but was instead investigated for cancer and fertility issues (which I actually didn’t particularly want investigating). Just anything BUT perimenopause. In the end I paid to have a private consultation with a specialist nurse via a menopause charity. She identified that I was suffering with 31 out of 32 symptoms and basically instructed my GP to give me HRT. It has helped a lot, but I think I am much further through perimenopause than my age would suggest- and I know I need my does looking at. Again- it’s another battle with the NHS. I will probably pay to get it sorted, but I am on a super low income so it’s not ideal. Overall, I’m massively disappointed that I just wasn’t listened to. Which I know is very common sadly. I think I could of been spared quite a lot of bad experiences (because let’s face it all of these things do impact daily life in all sorts of ways) if only some Thad actually been bothered to take me seriously. If you are struggling with symptoms- be assertive and don’t back down. It is totally possible to get help, but you may have to fight for it.

Symptoms

Hot flushes, sweating

20 more

Treatments

Exercise

3 more

Used HRT?

Yes, I'm currently using HRT

0 helpful

I’m post menopausal
Started less than 6 months ago
🇬🇧 United Kingdom
  •  1 day ago
45 years old

I had over 10 years of problems such as miscarriage, failed IVF, severe anaemia from blood loss from very heavy periods all due to fibroids and had a surgical hysterectomy in January this has made a huge difference to my overall health and day to functioning. If I can just get over the tiredness I will have a way better quality of life than before

Symptoms

Hot flushes, sweating

16 more

Treatments

Vaginal lubricants

Used HRT?

Yes, I'm currently using HRT

0 helpful

I’m perimenopausal
Started 1-3 years ago
🇬🇧 United Kingdom
  •  1 day ago
46 years old

Started to notice having peri menopause symptoms at age 46 although I think I had been in peri menopause for maybe 2 years before. My mental health was already bad but it has continued to decline.

Symptoms

Hot flushes, sweating

16 more

Treatments

N/A

Used HRT?

Yes, I'm currently using HRT

0 helpful

I’m post menopausal
Started 8-10 years ago
🇬🇧 United Kingdom
  •  1 day ago
54 years old

I think I became perimenopausal around 43 but didn’t realise. Painful intercourse, vaginal dryness , anxiety and low libido were my main symptoms for a number of years.

Symptoms

Hot flushes, sweating

24 more

Treatments

Exercise

1 more

Used HRT?

Yes, I'm currently using HRT

0 helpful

I’m perimenopausal
Started 1-3 years ago
🇬🇧 United Kingdom
  •  1 day ago
43 years old

Started age 42, got told I was too young at first. Saw a different doctor who was understanding and listened to my symptoms and prescribed patches for me - massive difference

Symptoms

Irritability

17 more

Treatments

Exercise

2 more

Used HRT?

Yes, I'm currently using HRT

0 helpful

I’m perimenopausal
Started 1-3 years ago
🇬🇧 United Kingdom
  •  1 day ago
42 years old

Symptoms

Hot flushes, sweating

20 more

Treatments

Exercise

2 more

Used HRT?

No

0 helpful

I’m perimenopausal
Started 1-3 years ago
🇬🇧 United Kingdom
  •  1 day ago
49 years old

Perimenopause started age 46. Joint ache Brain fog Low mood Low libido. Went on femoston 1/10 for a year. Game changer brilliant. After a year started to get night sweats. Then changed to evorel sequi which then gave me a barrage of side effects particularly Low mood on the conti patch. Have just switched to femoston 2/10

Symptoms

Hot flushes, sweating

16 more

Treatments

Exercise

Used HRT?

Yes, I'm currently using HRT

0 helpful

I’m post menopausal
Started 5-8 years ago
🇬🇧 United Kingdom
  •  1 day ago
59 years old

I feel my perimenopause started at around age 48. Balance and anxiety and heart palpitations were the first signs. I was using the Merena coil at the time so it's hard to say when my periods stopped, and I did have a light period in my 5th year of the coils so ended up having ultrasound to check my uterus and ovaries, which were found to be fine. The worst symptoms have been anxiety, palpitations, heartburn, weight gain, crawling skin, night sweat and loss of libido. Exercise has definitely helped, daily power walks help with digestion, mood and weigh and drinking more water!

Symptoms

Hot flushes, sweating

24 more

Treatments

Exercise

1 more

Used HRT?

Yes, I'm currently using HRT

0 helpful

I’m post menopausal
Started 10+ years ago
🇬🇧 United Kingdom
  •  1 day ago
53 years old

My perimenopausal symptoms started at 38 but I didn’t know it at the time. We were trying for a baby and having no luck. My GP didn’t suggest that the two things were related!! We were going down the IVF route when a blood test showed I was in Primary Ovarian Failure and had little or no chance of conceiving with my own eggs. We used donor eggs and had twins which was amazing. Immediately after their birth I started having menopausal symptoms so went on HRT. I used a combined pill for 10 years and then changed to gel for Oestrogen and tablet for Progesterone. I tried Testosterone for a month but my hair loss got worse and had more facial hair so stopped taking it.

Symptoms

Hot flushes, sweating

24 more

Treatments

Exercise

1 more

Used HRT?

Yes, I'm currently using HRT

0 helpful

I’m perimenopausal
Started 3-5 years ago
🇬🇧 United Kingdom
  •  1 day ago
51 years old

My symptoms originally started not long before the first COVID lockdown. At the time I put a lot of my symptoms due to being at home and thought maybe i had long COVID. It was only as returning to normal life that some of my symptoms increased or got more severe. It was the low mood that affected me the most and the brain fog. I thought i was getting symptoms of dementia. I am a teacher and was crying at work for no reason. It was after one of these crying episodes when i went home and phoned my gp. I lucked out as a female gp phoned me and listened to me crying down the phone, she asked me lots of questions and concluded that she thought I was perimenopausal. She immediately text me some information and we arranged to speak a couple of days later, where we discussed hrt and my options. I am on my third different hrt combination now and hopefully i have found what works for me

Symptoms

Hot flushes, sweating

14 more

Treatments

N/A

Used HRT?

Yes, I'm currently using HRT

0 helpful

I’m perimenopausal
Started 3-5 years ago
🇬🇧 United Kingdom
  •  1 day ago
44 years old

Started around age 37. Had blood test and told it was not. Symptoms were mild and came and went. At 44 we’re really bad. Hot flushes full body itch, appoints an internal hog flush. Sore joints. Moods swings. Headaches and migraines worse. Went to my nurse for usual depo injection and had a really bad hit flush, she asked if there were any other changes I had noticed recently, I spoke about how I had been feeling. She said I had just given her every symptom of the menopause. She then gave me an appointment with the women’s health nurse for 20 minutes later. I chatted at length with the other nurse about how o felt it had started years ago and gig told it was not, she explained that a blood test was no longer needed at my age and going off my symptoms she would suggest HRT as she agreed I was going through the perimenopause. She reply what that meant and talked me through the options and HRT. I got a prescription and was on HRT. Within a couple of days felt much better. I had a dip a few months later ( felt I was having a mental breakdown) had all the symptoms in one go along with really bad anxiety. Couldn’t go to work, thought I couldn’t do my job. I was kind working on nightshift looking after 10 people. Couldn’t see how that was possible when I couldn’t look after myself. Work got my nights covered and put me back on days and that’s when I went from 50-75 mcg Evorel patches. Felt better in a couple of days again. I still had and do have symptoms but a little at a time, not all in one go. Much better. I’m now on the Evorel Conti patches as with the brain fog and my schedule meant I wasn’t always taking the progesterone tablets. My GP was great and said “ if it’s not working for my our lifestyle let’s find something that does”and once again the next day I was onto something else that worked for me. Guess I’m one of the lucky ones with a well informed GP. Blessed.

Symptoms

Hot flushes, sweating

10 more

Treatments

CBT

Used HRT?

Yes, I'm currently using HRT

0 helpful

I’m perimenopausal
Started 1-3 years ago
🇬🇧 United Kingdom
  •  1 day ago
44 years old

I believe I was experiencing peri menopause symptoms for at least a year before I was taken seriously. I was constantly being told I was "too young", despite being in my mind 40s. Sadly it was only when I saw a female practitioner that I was taken seriously. I'd had the blood test, which wasn't worth having because it has to be done exactly 10 days before your period starts and who knows when that is going to arrive during peri menopause?! My absolute worst symptoms were anxiety (just before my period would start) and the increase in period pain. My periods changed completely, being shorter, heavier and painful. My hair was dry, my nails were weak and frayed/snapped all the time, my skin was dry, I was almost always too hot (even in winter), I was constantly bloated and developed a lot of food intolerances. My mind was not my own and I was constantly tired. HRT has, thankfully, eliminated most of the symptoms but I do have spots now. I feel human again since starting HRT.

Symptoms

Hot flushes, sweating

18 more

Treatments

N/A

Used HRT?

Yes, I'm currently using HRT

0 helpful

The Lowdown

Women's health, reviewed.

Get the best women’s health info in your inbox

You are signing up to receive The Lowdown's latest findings and news in women's health. Your data will be used in accordance with our Privacy & Cookie policy

Built by doctors and experts

Our tools are made by medical professionals for your peace of mind

Pharmacy services provided by Phlo Technologies Ltd. GPhC reg number: 9011171

When you click on some links on this site, we may get a small affiliate commission