Search HRT reviews

Share and compare your HRT review with other women. Explore similar side effects & effective treatment stories

Filter experiences

Reviewer age

Stage

Community reviews

HRT Review
Used for 3 to 6 months
55 years old
🇬🇧 United Kingdom
  •  today

At 55yrs old o just want bleeding to stop

HRT used

Oestrogel 0.06%

2 more

Symptoms

Hot flushes, sweating

24 more

Side effects

Irregular bleeding

15 more

0 helpful

HRT Review
Used for more than 12 months
59 years old
🇬🇧 United Kingdom
  •  today

Having been on sequential HRT for 18 months prior, this gel and Utrogestan combo suits me as, although I do have periods of anxiety, I generally feel better and more 'normal ' I'm looking into natural methods to help with achey joints and weight changes

HRT used

Sandrena 1mg

1 more

Symptoms

Hot flushes, sweating

11 more

Side effects

Bloating

6 more

0 helpful

HRT Review
Used for 3 to 6 months
48 years old
🇬🇧 United Kingdom
  •  today

I initially had the Mirena fitted as I wasn’t doing well on the gel and pill regime (brain fog = fail!!) but I had horrendous abdominal cramping (period pain!) and had it out and came off everything! Back on pill. Then my mood swings were just ridiculous - feeling not me, not who I want to be and just no warning. 3 days of tears and everything out of perspective - then boom back to myself again! So I decided the pain would be better than the emotional rollercoaster!! Am on Mirena and patch twice weekly - considering asking about an increased dose of patch as not quite right on mental side - but the good days are defo better if that makes sense. All in all better than nothing! I think it takes time to figure out what works for you as individual, including other vitamin supplements to support, as well as committing to the other things in life to support better mental and physical health (diet, fitness, socialisation, positive people etc)

HRT used

Estradot 75

1 more

Symptoms

Depressive mood

10 more

Side effects

Irregular bleeding

4 more

0 helpful

HRT Review
Used for more than 12 months
48 years old
🇬🇧 United Kingdom
  •  1 day ago

No hot sweats, definitely more energy. Still have anxious moments now & again & trouble sleeping.

HRT used

Oestrogel 0.06%

1 more

Symptoms

Hot flushes, sweating

22 more

Side effects

Irregular bleeding

14 more

1 helpful

HRT Review
Used for 6 to 12 months
42 years old
🇬🇧 United Kingdom
  •  1 day ago

My experience with HRT has been mostly positive. Because they found endo when they performed my hysterectomy I was advised to take progesterone. I tried utrogestran and another one but they didn’t suit me and I felt really emotional all the time. I’ve stopped all progesterone and feel better in myself. I was experiencing some pain where my womb used to be so I’m now trialling vaginal oestrogen. It seems to be working.

HRT used

Oestrogel 0.06%

1 more

Symptoms

Hot flushes, sweating

12 more

Side effects

Bloating

11 more

0 helpful

HRT Review
Used for more than 12 months
60 years old
🇬🇧 United Kingdom
  •  1 day ago

Due to a mental breakdown my GP reluctantly prescribed me sequential HRT Elleste Duet even though my periods had stopped 18months previous. This relieved my hot flushes. I remained on this for 6years & started to have periods every 4 weeks. I was referred to a gynaecologist as I had thickening of the womb lining. I was advised I should be on continual HRT. I now have a mirena progesterone coil fitted and have patches changed twice a week & now feel so much better. Had I not started HRT my mental health would have declined.

HRT used

Evorel Conti

1 more

Symptoms

Hot flushes, sweating

24 more

Side effects

Bloating

3 more

0 helpful

HRT Review
Used for less than 3 months
50 years old
🇬🇧 United Kingdom
  •  1 day ago

Positive. Still early days but already feel on a more even keel with my mood. I was feeling really low and prone to crying spells. This is no longer the case.

HRT used

Oestrogel 0.06%

1 more

Symptoms

Irritability

7 more

Side effects

Sore breasts

1 more

0 helpful

HRT Review
Used for 6 to 12 months
44 years old
🇬🇧 United Kingdom
  •  1 day ago

I began with the gel, but found it difficult to use and ended up getting my dose muddled. After swapping to the patches I’ve found it much easier, but did get horrible cystic acne across my chest and back for 3 months. It’s eased off, but still is occasionally an issue. On the whole HRT had improved my symptoms- especially at first. But a lot of my symptoms are creeping back and I have asked for my does to be reviewed - still waiting

HRT used

Evorel Conti

Symptoms

Hot flushes, sweating

20 more

Side effects

Irregular bleeding

10 more

0 helpful

HRT Review
Used for 3 to 6 months
45 years old
🇬🇧 United Kingdom
  •  1 day ago

Overall positive, have recently started Testosterone Gel, am hoping this helps with my tiredness which makes me very irritable.

HRT used

Lenzetto

2 more

Symptoms

Hot flushes, sweating

16 more

Side effects

Tiredness

1 more

0 helpful

HRT Review
Used for 6 to 12 months
46 years old
🇬🇧 United Kingdom
  •  1 day ago

Confusing. I’m not sure if it’s helpful? Night sweats have increased and I’m experiencing horrendous restless legs at night. I had to reduce 4 pumps of gel down to 2 as my breasts felt like I had mastitis!

HRT used

Oestrogel 0.06%

2 more

Symptoms

Hot flushes, sweating

16 more

Side effects

Irregular bleeding

13 more

0 helpful

HRT Review
Used for more than 12 months
54 years old
🇬🇧 United Kingdom
  •  1 day ago

I started on a low dose of Evorel 25 alongside my Mirena IUD . After 3 months I was still suffering from insomnia, low mood, brain fog, anxiety, low libido, lack of energy, muscle pain and night sweats. My Evorel was increased to Evorel 50 and I was prescribed Tostran gel. Within a month I started to feel like me again and have never looked back. Tostran is sometimes hard to get and I have had to use Testogel at a half pump dose instead which isn’t very accurate on occasion. When my Mirena IUD expired last year and I was waiting for a replacement appointment I was swapped to Evorel Conti for 2 months and they didn’t suit me as many symptoms reappeared.

HRT used

Evorel 50

2 more

Symptoms

Hot flushes, sweating

24 more

Side effects

Irregular bleeding

4 more

0 helpful

HRT Review
Used for less than 3 months
43 years old
🇬🇧 United Kingdom
  •  1 day ago

I had a hysterectomy in November (endometriosis and adenomyosis) but my ovaries were left. Almost immediately, I had symptoms of perimenopause - boiling at night, sore boobs, horrible anxiety (filled with dread that something awful was about to happen), zero libido, dizzy spells, incontinence… I spoke to a private gp who specialised in women’s health. She explained that sometimes ovary failure happens after a hysterectomy and put me on hrt. I felt like I wanted to cry when I spoke to her - she explained everything so well and I honestly started feeling better within days of taking HRT. I’m still feeling strangely anxious about things but exercise is helping. Progesterone helps me feel sleepy at night which a bonus with the insomnia I usually have.

HRT used

Estradot 100

2 more

Symptoms

Hot flushes, sweating

15 more

Side effects

Other

0 helpful

HRT Review
Used for 3 to 6 months
43 years old
🇬🇧 United Kingdom
  •  1 day ago

I started on 50 and recently moved to 75. Controls symptoms well. Patch sticks well (and I've tried a few different brands) and is small!

HRT used

Estradot 75

1 more

Symptoms

Irritability

17 more

Side effects

Other

0 helpful

HRT Review
Used for more than 12 months
49 years old
🇬🇧 United Kingdom
  •  1 day ago

Was always tired, lower mood anxiety on the conti patch. Made me feel worse than without HRT

HRT used

Evorel Sequi

Symptoms

Hot flushes, sweating

16 more

Side effects

Bloating

3 more

0 helpful

HRT Review
Used for 3 to 6 months
59 years old
🇬🇧 United Kingdom
  •  1 day ago

My feeling of overwhelm was my reason for taking HRT, I felt completely out of control with anxiety and rage and didnt know wbat on earth was happening to me so I had 18 months of 3 different HRT regimes, all of which included having very heavy regular periods. So although the anxiety was quite successfully dealt with I felt really depressed about suddenly having periods again. I eventually spoke to a GP who said I shouldn't have been on the sequential HRT at all so I'm now taking 1mg estrogen gel sachets and Utrogestan tablets and I feel much more settled. I feel it would be fantastic to have a well woman clinic in surgeries that you could just pop in with your general menopause questions!

HRT used

Elleste-Duet 1mg

Symptoms

Hot flushes, sweating

24 more

Side effects

Irregular bleeding

7 more

0 helpful

HRT Review
Used for more than 12 months
53 years old
🇬🇧 United Kingdom
  •  1 day ago

Generally positive as the worst symptoms improved migraines, palpitations, hot flushes etc However the hair loss, weight gain, excess facial hair and lack of libido hasn’t been helped by my HRT

HRT used

Oestrogel 0.06%

1 more

Symptoms

Hot flushes, sweating

24 more

Side effects

Irregular bleeding

1 more

0 helpful

HRT Review
Used for more than 12 months
51 years old
🇬🇧 United Kingdom
  •  1 day ago

Once I remembered to use the hrt when prescribed i have found the combination of pill patch and vaginal tablets to be very effective in controlling my symptoms. On occasions i do still get some symptoms such as brain fog, low mood and slight anxiety but no where to the levels prior to hrt

HRT used

Estradot 75

2 more

Symptoms

Hot flushes, sweating

14 more

Side effects

Other

0 helpful

HRT Review
Used for less than 3 months
44 years old
🇬🇧 United Kingdom
  •  1 day ago

I started on 50mg Evorel. Was fine. Then needed to go up to 75mcg. Also using the progesterone tablets. Now on 50mg Evorel Conti along with 25mcg Evorel. Overall much better with HRT than without. Only issue was when I needed to up the dose as symptoms worsened but settled once dose changed. Now on the Conti and appear well. Thank goodness for HRT and my well informed GP surgery.

HRT used

Evorel Conti

Symptoms

Hot flushes, sweating

10 more

Side effects

Irregular bleeding

8 more

0 helpful

HRT Review
Used for more than 12 months
104 years old
🇬🇧 United Kingdom
  •  1 day ago

At first evorel sequi was a game changer , had previously been on gel and progesterone tablets but the tablets gave me incredible headaches and made me lethargic . I had one year of really successful use on sequi but have more recently found it ineffective Probably needs a review.

HRT used

Evorel Sequi

Symptoms

Hot flushes, sweating

21 more

Side effects

Irregular bleeding

14 more

0 helpful

HRT Review
Used for 3 to 6 months
44 years old
🇬🇧 United Kingdom
  •  1 day ago

I've had a positive experience with the HRT I've been described. My mind is more focused, my anxiety has all but gone and I sleep a lot better. I feel like I'm more present and less like there is an invisible barrier between me and the world.

HRT used

Evorel Conti

Symptoms

Hot flushes, sweating

18 more

Side effects

Irregular bleeding

7 more

0 helpful

The Lowdown

Women's health, reviewed.

Get the best women’s health info in your inbox

You are signing up to receive The Lowdown's latest findings and news in women's health. Your data will be used in accordance with our Privacy & Cookie policy

Built by doctors and experts

Our tools are made by medical professionals for your peace of mind

Pharmacy services provided by Phlo Technologies Ltd. GPhC reg number: 9011171

When you click on some links on this site, we may get a small affiliate commission