Search reviews

Filter, read and compare reviews from

The Lowdown community

Method
Reviewer
Side effects

Lowdown user
1 day ago

It worked and you're not exactly offered a choice with what you're given but this seriously effected my mood both times I took it.

Read more 

Helpful?
Lowdown user
5 days ago

I've just had my 4th implant fitted, having had my first one in 2011. I'm in a longterm relationship and at the time it was the only suggested longer term option for contraception by my GP as I'd had not great experiences on the Pill. My last implant expired in June 2020 and I've only just been able to have it replaced which has given me a window of direct comparison. Since my implant expired, I've gained weight and found it near impossible to lose, despite being very active and trying various changes to my diet and nutrition. I had approx 1 episode of bleeding per year with the implant, and it took approx 4 months for my period to kick in after expiry, and they were quite light and regular. I have no frame of reference as I had a very irregular cycle prior to using hormonal contraception. The most negative side effect I have noticed is extremely low mood that is in tune with a menstrual cycle, despite not actually bleeding whilst on the implant, including thoughts of self harm and suicide at its worst. I only identified this by using a cycle tracking app recommended by a friend who I confided in about my mood. Of the 4 insertions, one was particularly difficult as the previous one had been lodged too far into my arm, and one had to placed differently due to new guidance, but healing has always been within 5 days and no more painful during/after than having tooth removed or a filling at the dentist. Overall I've decided to stick with it, but have learned the importance of tracking my physical and mental wellbeing in order to make sure I keep safe and well.

Read more 

Helpful?
Lowdown user
5 days ago

Fitting painful but bearable, during period so a lot of blood. Experienced intense cramps and stabbing pain in lower right hand side of tummy for 3 days. First call to drs dismissed my symptoms and said it was normal. 2 weeks after insertion treated for bladder infection. Stabbing pain present three weeks later, couldn't get a hospital scan, after three exams I had to have it taken out, now on a 14 day course of antibiotics due to pelvic infection. Removal hurt but was quick and 3 times easier due to only one dilation of the cervix as it is pulled out. Pain instantly went after removal, just mild cramps and spotting due to removal.

Read more 

Helpful?
Lowdown user
6 days ago

The beginning and the end of using it was not great - the middle was fine though. When I first got it I bled for about 8-10 days, really heavily. I didn't have any pain, which I guess was a bonus, but was not fun. Once that evened out after about 4 months or so, it was fine. Hardly ever had a period, no mood swings, no pms, etc. But then at about the 2 year mark the heavy period started again, averaging about 12-15 days long. It was horrible, to the point that I got it removed earlier than needed to.

Read more 

Helpful?
Lowdown user
6 days ago

I have to take the mini-pill because of other medication I am on. I have been on it since the first lockdown and I have had no problems. Since then I've had my period once (when I had covid and I think it was because of the change in my body), otherwise no period, no pms, no pain. My skin or hair hasn't really changed at all. I do get headaches but I have chronic headaches so wasn't any different from the pill. My only gripe is taking it at the same time every day. e

Read more 

Helpful?
Lowdown user
1 week ago

I didn't realise it at the time but it made my mood incredibly low but the worst thing was that it took away all my sex drive and triggered vaginismus so I couldn't even enjoy the little sex I did have.

Read more 

Helpful?
Lowdown user
2 weeks ago

Having the coil inserted was possibly one of the most painful experiences in my life. Whilst on the doctors table I was in a lot of pain and then for a few days following - so please bare this in mind when booking your appointment around work/school/events. For the first few months, my periods were intensely painful, however after a few months, this pain did clear up. I am now about 1 year into this contraception and do love it, it is convenient and isn't hormonal which was a big deal for me due to the combi pill giving me serious mental health issues. I can forget about it for 10 years which is a dream! I am currently undergoing tests for endometriosis for symptoms in which I personally do not believe is connected to my coil insertion - however this review could be subject to the change, as much contraception experience does depending on the length of time it is being used for.

Read more 

Helpful?
Lowdown user
2 weeks ago

Worked well as a contraception but completely lacked any sex drive which just got frustrating.

Read more 

Helpful?
Lowdown user
2 weeks ago

Best contraception I have ever been on, I've struggled to find one that agreed with me as much as this, but it can only be used for up to 3 years as it has increased risk of osteoporosis and breast cancer after that. I lost weight, felt very stable and my mood wasn't impacted. Yes, there were 'fuzzy' days where you felt moody and knew yourself you were being a bit overly sensitive to things, but that came and went like PMS. No periods for 3 years and my sex drive and skin was great.

Read more 

Helpful?
Lowdown user
2 weeks ago

As a baseline, it functioned as a contraceptive: I didn't get pregnant and it didn't leave me feeling depressed/sad all the time. But, I also get 2 periods a month now and have gained about 10kg in the past year and am definitely struggling to loose weight where i haven't before. My period starts heavy, lasts 3 days and then 'takes a break' for 4/5 days and restarts for another 3 days. I haven't heard anyone else have this side effect and it might only be me, but as someone who is 24 years old whose always had regular periods this is a very frustrating side effect.

Read more 

Helpful?