LD-logo

Search reviews

Filter, read and compare reviews from

The Lowdown community

Method
Reviewer
Side effects

Lowdown user
today

Taken for a few months however my sex drive and mood plummeted, making me feel awful for the months I was taking it. Stopped taking and it all returned back to normal.

Read more 

Helpful?
Lowdown user
today

It was OK (was on it for 4 years with 2 6 month breaks) but I definitely gained weight and experienced PMS emotional symptoms when I didn’t before. Also caused my vagina to get considerably drier. I had tender breasts for at least 2, sometimes 3 weeks of the month which was very annoying, but they did get a little bigger too. No other side effects than that, I think I didn’t try any alternatives because I didn’t know the difference. The long crossover period after missing it was what attracted me as I have forgotten a couple of times.

Read more 

Helpful?
Lowdown user
today

I started using Natural Cycles after I came off the hormonal birth control pill (Lutera) to help my body transition before I was ready to become pregnant. It was a great tool to get to know my body and I was able to prevent pregnancy without any side effects for 9 months before I made the switch to plan for pregnancy. I thought it was easy to use and really loved the feeling of knowing my body was doing what it was doing naturally, without any hormones. It def made me feel more confident when it came time to conceive.

Read more 

Helpful?
Lowdown user
1 day ago

Broke out on a rash within 1 week of use on inner arms, neck, shoulders and chest. Had to take antihistamines to reduce itching, but the rash remained/got worse over time. Had to stop within 10 days as skin utterly ruined.

Read more 

Helpful?
Lowdown user
1 day ago

Overall, being on this contraceptive my experience was fine aside from hair loss. I had no other side effects I could associate with the pill other than the hair loss which was distressing. Coming off of this pill was a NIGHTMARE though. After having been on it for 10 years I believe it has messed up my body’s ability to naturally regulate my hormones. The first 6 months off I experienced severe anxiety, heart palpitations, panic attacks, leg tremors, night sweats, heavy flow, and cramps all throughout my cycle. I’m now over a year off and still experiencing these side effects though they are less severe

Read more 

Helpful?
Lowdown user
2 days ago

Got my Kyleena fitted in August 2020 and I must say it was not as painful as I thought it would! Maybe the painkillers I was given had an effect, or maybe it was my amazing OB/GYN who managed to help me manage my stress, maybe it's both, but what a relief! I had cramps the next 30 minutes following the insertion and then they stopped. For the first couple months I experienced some spotting, some random (very manageable) cramps, and some breast tenderness, but once my body got used to the IUS those were all gone. I haven't experienced any specific side effect, overall very happy with my contraception at the moment!

Read more 

Helpful?
Lowdown user
3 days ago

Went on this pill at 14 to control my super heavy, irregular and painful periods and it did just that - could predict them down to the hour on this pill and were much lighter!! Loved it for about 4 years then started getting awful headaches/migraines and my period became weird - like no blood, just menstrual blobs? GP recommended coming off it as the side effects were concerning and I’d been on it for so long. Swapped immediately to the implant so can’t comment on what it was like coming off the pill. Didn’t fully trust it as sole method of contraception as I wasn’t taking it “perfectly”.

Read more 

Helpful?
Lowdown user
3 days ago

I've had the IUD for just over 4 months. The insertion process was very painful, and this was not helped by the horrible GP who did the insertion. The pain was bad for about 2 days and I took a lot of paracetamol and ibuprofen. However, the pain at insertion is WORTH it for the totally stress-free sex life and I would DEFINITELY recommend. Some changes to periods... Pre-IUD (when using condoms only) my periods were around 4-5 days, fairly light. Now they last 9 days every time which is annoying, but days 1-4 are sooo light, and days 5-9 are still between light-regular. I am probably not bleeding much more overall than I was pre-IUD, but it is just spread out over more days. I haven't noticed my periods being any more painful than they were pre-IUD. I still use a menstrual cup and haven't had any problems. I'd also add that I have more discharge than pre-IUD although I think this has been settling down recently, and it's only been 4 months so far anyway, so not very long. Don't be put off by the painful procedure - it has been so worth it for me and my boyfriend. Stress-free and no hormonal-related mood/weight/skin changes!

Read more 

Helpful?
Lowdown user
4 days ago

I was on Yasmin for around 4 years to manage the symptoms of my PCOS, whilst I was on it it managed my acne and made me bleed every month. I decided to come off the pill after i recognised that it was contributing to my feelings of anxiety and low mood and I wanted to try and naturally ovulate, something I had been missing for around 10 years. Positives coming off Yasmin; -Improvement in my emotional wellbeing and mental health, I just generally feel more positive and less anxious now. -Higher sex drive and generally wetter when turned on. Negatives coming off Yasmin: - Skin flare up (to be expected for me because of my PCOS), painful cystic acne for around 6 months, it's now settling down. -Significant hair loss and imbalance in oil for hair and face, leading to greasy hair and acne. The hair loss only lasted about a month, but the regrowing is taking agesss. All in all when taking Yasmin I felt the positives outweighed the negatives for me at that time and helped managed my PCOS symptoms, coming off of it there were a few negative side affects but 6 months on they have levelled out now.

Read more 

Helpful?
Lowdown user
5 days ago

On this pill I'd wake up in the morning feeling extremely low and I'd cry often, I also had an incredibly short fuse and would get extremely frustrated and angry over little things. I've always suffered from thrush but this pill made it so bad I could barely ever have sex. Sex drive wasn't affected as far as I'm aware.

Read more 

Helpful?