Search contraception reviews

Compare contraception with reviews from people like you, then order to your door in just a few clicks

Filter reviews

Community reviews ()

Top rated
Top rated
Lowdown user
Used for 6 - 12 months

Verified review  •  1 day ago


I actually used the brand Freedo (option wasn't listed above) but it has the same active ingredients and dose as yasmin (Freedo is often dispensed in Ireland). I didn't like this pill as I found I was EXTREMELY emotional when I was on it. Weeping constantly, severe anxiety. (Disclaimer: I was definitely going through a tough time when I was taking this pill but once I changed contraception I was no longer crying all the time and found my emotions were easier to control).

Lowdown user
Used for 6 - 12 months

Verified review  •  1 day ago


This was the first contraceptive pill I was ever put on and the doctor recommended using 3 packs back to back without any break. The first 3 months were absolutely fine - no major side effects. However, after this point I started to get a lot of spotting. The word spotting sounds like its just a small bit of blood but this was A LOT. It ended up that I would pretty much just have 1 blood free week in the month. And at least 2 weeks of what essentially was as heavy as a period. (I have had ongoing issues with bleeding/spotting on contraceptive pills - no underlying issues - this bleeding ceased when I got the Mirena coil).

Lowdown user
Used for 3 - 5 years

Verified review  •  1 day ago


I've been taking this for years now and it has been able to stop my periods which is why I wanted to take it in the first place. The only issue for me is remembering/being able to take it at the same time everyday. If I get my timings out of sync then I'll end up having a period. But, the periods I do have are generally less painful.

Lowdown user
Used for 3 - 5 years

Verified review  •  1 day ago


Dianette was recommended to me by a private dermatologist for acne. It completely cleared my skin and made it less oily; I stopped using foundation. Thanks to clear skin it ultimately improved my self-esteem. I don't have any physical side effects like with other pills I've tried in the past (eg. Cilest) which gave me bad headaches. It made my periods less heavy, no more period pain. I also like that I know exactly when my period is coming or can choose to skip it with continuous pill taking. I am aware of the increased risk of blood clots, but if you read the pamphlet carefully the risk increase is quite small. The downside is the GPs tend to be rather reluctant to prescribe it due to the this risk and have tried to convince me to alternatives. I've always stood my ground and demonstrated that I've researched other methods and am making an informed decision with Dianette.

Lowdown user
Used for 12 - 18 months

Verified review  •  5 days ago


To start off with the implant was great for me for the first 6 months, but then my side effects settled in and I hated it! My sex drive decreased and I had spotting all the time. Really happy to have it taken out.

Lowdown user
Used for 3 - 6 months

Verified review  •  6 days ago


This was a good pill although I did notice the side affects of my mood and libido they were much less extreme than using various other combined pills. Over all of the pills I have used this is probably the one which doesn’t affect my day to day life as much. I would recommend giving it a go if you are experiencing severe side effects from your current contraception. It’s not perfect by it’s a trusty middle ground!

Lowdown user
Used for 12 - 18 months

Verified review  •  6 days ago


I used this for quite a while and to be honest it seemed like it was alright. Did get a loss of libido and the occasional headache but other than that I felt it was fine. Although I have been trying different contraception and have recently gone back onto mercellion. Turns out it’s not as good as I thought. My moods are not good. I have a short temper on these and my anxiety is through the roof. It’s only when you come off something and come back a year later that actually you can tell a difference.

Lowdown user
Used for 3 - 6 months

Verified review  •  6 days ago


I have used various pills for a couple years. However with a change in lifestyle being a shift worker I was unable to take the pill at the same time everyday and it was leading to irregular bleeding. The patch has been so easy to get on with and I had no changes moving from pill to patch and is easily hidden. The one downside is if your wearing dark clothing the patch edges can be very sticky and sometimes fluff from clothing transfers onto the edges of the patch. However this being my only downside im glad I made the switch and I would highly recommend it to anyone who struggles to remember take the pill everyday or someone like me who works shift patterns.

Lowdown user
Used for 12 - 18 months

Verified review  •  1 week ago


I really enjoyed this contraception having switched from progesterone only to the combined pill, however I did develop migraines with aura which I have previously never had in my life before which is the only reason I was advised to not take this pill/ type of pill any more. This is a shame as I had increased sex drive and regular periods and it did not cause me to have mood swings like the progesterone only pill.

Lowdown user
Used for 6 - 12 months

Verified review  •  1 week ago


this is the best pill I've tried! I did experience a little itching (feels like I have thrush) but it's only minor and is no where near as much as it was with other pills and after 4-6 months it seems to have disappeared. my periods are lighter and the pain is less but still painful. it is manageable though. no emotional side effects that I can notice. my skin is the same as it was when I wasn't on bc but that's okay.

Top rated