contraceptive-icon

Hormonal coil (IUS) Reviews

(623)

Hormonal coil (IUS) reviews

(623)


39 years old
Used for 3 - 6 months

Verified review  •  6 days ago


The fitting was more complex than expected as it took the doctor 40 minutes and 4 coils to get it in - apparently I have a steeper bend in my uterus than most and she had to bend the tool accordingly. I would say it was uncomfortable rather than painful however and in the immediate aftermath I felt fine. After a couple of days I felt incredibly nauseous, tired and dizzy. I felt so ill I had to take a week off work. Driving was especially bad, I really struggled with motion sickness which I've never had as a driver or even as a front seat passenger. I had sores on my vulva, which was itchy and inflamed. I went to the doctor who said I had an infection and gave me antibiotics and a Canesten pessary. The itching and soreness eventually cleared up, and while the dizziness and nausea has lessened, it's still pretty pervasive and is especially bad during my period. My periods have been lighter although still monthly but PMS seems to go on much longer and be more vicious that usual. I also seem to get cramps randomly rather than just around my period. I've lost a lot of libido and struggle to orgasm, so in that sense it's been a doubly effective contraceptive, but that is out of character for me and has started to affect my partner's confidence and our relationship. My body can be pretty sensitive, but I thought with a very low dose of hormone I might be ok but the side effects have just not been worth it for me so I've decided to have it taken out. I'm very much looking forward to feeling like myself again.

37 years old
Used for 18 months - 3 years

Verified review  •  1 week ago


Changed my life for the better. I used to have very heavy, painful periods for 4-6 days at a time, on irregular cycles. Having it fitted was painful - definitely ask for pain relief if you're not offered it - and I had a couple of weeks of intermittent period-like cramps but after that no periods and no pain! It's like a miracle. No other side effects, and I can't feel it at all. I completely, unreservedly recommend this.

22 years old
Used for 3 - 6 months

Verified review  •  2 weeks ago


I wanted to share my experience of the actual procedure of getting the coil as when I was looking, there were more negative stories than positive ones, now I cannot comment for the long term effects because I have only had it in since this morning, but so far it has been absolutely fine. I had my appointment this morning, and as someone with anxiety I was extremely scared as all I’ve ever heard were horror stories but I was sick of my moods on the pill. The nurses talked me through everything that would happen, explained that they would measure my cervix and because I’m only 21 with no children I may need the kyleena instead of the mirena as it is smaller. Which I was fine with. Of course the whole process was uncomfortable, but they made me feel so at ease and I knew I was in safe hands. I was offered general anaesthetic spray, which I wanted and I took paracetamol and ibuprofen before hand, helping myself as much as possible. Like I said it was uncomfortable, and crampy but at no point was there anything painful. My cramps didn’t start until I got home, which was only 40 minutes after my appointment. They were nothing that I haven’t experienced before, because I’ve had quite painful periods since I was younger, so it was manageable. I had it fitted a whole 12 hours ago and I am absolutely fine, only slight cramping but nothing enough for painkillers. I will do another review after a few months to say if it has changed anything else. So far so good, so it ladies. It’s not as bad as you think

31 years old
Used for 6 - 12 months

Verified review  •  2 weeks ago


I put off changing my copper IUD to a hormonal IUS for a long time because I scared myself from reading things online about increased weight gain and skin problems. I have struggled with acne all my adulthood but decided to try it because my periods were heavy to the point of being unmanageable. The clinician gave me the best advice: you don’t know how it will affect you until you try it, and if you don’t like it, just get it removed. I’m so glad I tried the hormonal IUS. My period is so light that it’s no longer the focus of my month. I used to literally lose sleep over my period pain and volume. I have noticed my skin is greasier than before but I haven’t experienced the horror stories I’ve heard. I’m taking starflower oil supplements, not sure if that helps at all. Only noticeable negative is I’ve started to sweat quite a bit, including night sweats. It even breaks through my high strength antiperspirant. Unpleasant but not life altering

35 years old
Used for 6 - 12 months

Verified review  •  2 weeks ago


My obs/gynae Dr recommended this. I had it inserted at the same time as my second c section. Other pills didn’t agree with me after the birth of my first daughter and I was struggling to find something that worked for me. The mini pill which was brilliant for so many years made me bleed, and all other pills turned me into a moody hormonal mess. The mirina coil has been brilliant so far. Initially I had horrendous back ache but I didn’t know if that was from child birth or the coil. Light exercise helped this. I also got thrush quite badly and have had mild pmt symptoms every now and again but nothing I can’t handle. I would definitely recommend this.

28 years old
Used for 3 - 6 months

Verified review  •  3 weeks ago


I’m only two months in to having the Mirena but here’s what I’ve found so far. I didn’t have a great experience with the mini pill and the effect it had on my mental health and currently am not allowed the combined pill due to weight, so this seemed my last option! I can’t speak for the fitting of the coil as I had this done under general anaesthetic whilst having a gynaecological surgery but I did wake up from the GA to some cramping. I found after fitting, I had cramping (on and off but more on) and pretty constant spotting (on the heavier side) for around 1 month. Wheat bags were my best friend! I was beginning to get a bit fed up with the constant bleeding and cramping but really wanted to give it a good chance to settle. I found once I’d had my first period all the symptoms settled right down and currently I am thinking it’s the best decision I ever made. The two periods I’ve had since having it fitted have been much much lighter to what my usual is which has been a godsend to me. I have Lichen Sclerosus and find period products typically give me a flare, so a lighter period is so ideal. I have noticed at certain times of the month I do have a few more spots than usual, but they still appear in the area I used to get them so that hasn’t changed. Breasts have definitely increased in size which is always a bonus! My sex drive has increased. I was using condoms before and found they weren’t great for me, so having the Mirena and not having to think about anything has really helped. I haven’t found the hormones to mess with my sex drive or my mood. Overall, so far, I’m really happy with my decision and so glad I went for it!

34 years old
Used for 5 - 8 years

Verified review  •  3 weeks ago


I loved every second of using the Mirena IUS. My periods stopped, I didn't experience any symptoms of PMS and felt generally way more level (and it was a chaotic time when I was using it!) The only reason I took it out was because my time was up with it and got it replaced with the Levosert, which I liked a little less - I'll leave a separate review for that one.

37 years old
Used for 3 - 6 months

Verified review  •  1 month ago


I have experienced unlikely side effects by loosing half of my hair in 2 months, itchy scalp, delayed period by 20 days and low iron level. Never was given a choice of coil by NHS doctor which coil I prefer during insertion appointment beforehand mentioning Mirena worn twice and had no issues at all. During coil taking out appointment I asked why Levosert has been inserted - apparently this is the cheaper option of Mirena. Often cheap means a loss of quality which I have experienced on my own health. Really disappointed in our health service!!! My hair loss has stopped in a week's time since removal of a coil. Ended up prescribed 3 months intake of an iron vitamin and taking a break from all hormonal coils.

43 years old
Used for 3 - 6 months

Verified review  •  26th Dec 22


did not work for me all of the sudden started to have panic attacks

26 years old
Used for 18 months - 3 years

Verified review  •  18th Dec 22


Insertion was uncomfortable and there was pain for about 30 seconds. This was linked to the clamping open and measuring of the uterus. I took 2 paracetamol and 2 ibuprofen 30 minutes before the appointment and every 4 hours afterwards for 12 hours. Cramping and spotting afterwards subsided after about 2 hours. Not as painful as anticipated and no major issues since. Lower back pain, very mild cramping & mood swings around the time I would normally get my period. No bleeding, some bloody discharge.

Don’t keep it on the DL.Put it on the LD.

Slide into our DMs

hello@thelowdown.com

LegitScript approved

Pharmacy services provided by Truepill Ltd.

CQC provider

GPhC reg number: 9011171

©The Lowdown 2022