contraceptive-icon

Combined pill Reviews

(2056)

Combined pill reviews

(2056)


Lowdown user
Used for 1 - 3 months

Verified review  •  today


I’m on day 11 of taking this pill and I can’t wait until the end of the pack to stop taking it. I wanted to like it and perhaps I haven’t given it enough of a chance but my mood swings are horrendous, I feel depressed and I don’t ever feel like doing anything, the only thing I can blame is this pill. My skin is awful at the moment and since taking it I’ve had break outs all over my chin that weren’t there previously. I really wish I could see it through for a few months but when I’m feeling like this it’s almost impossible to keep it up as my mental health is in a right state. One minute I’m fine and the next I’m furious. I was given this pill to help with breakthrough bleeding and it has helped with that but weighing up the pros and cons it really isn’t worth it for me personally.

Lowdown user
Used for 6 - 12 months

Verified review  •  2 days ago


I actually used the brand Freedo (option wasn't listed above) but it has the same active ingredients and dose as yasmin (Freedo is often dispensed in Ireland). I didn't like this pill as I found I was EXTREMELY emotional when I was on it. Weeping constantly, severe anxiety. (Disclaimer: I was definitely going through a tough time when I was taking this pill but once I changed contraception I was no longer crying all the time and found my emotions were easier to control).

Lowdown user
Used for 6 - 12 months

Verified review  •  2 days ago


This was the first contraceptive pill I was ever put on and the doctor recommended using 3 packs back to back without any break. The first 3 months were absolutely fine - no major side effects. However, after this point I started to get a lot of spotting. The word spotting sounds like its just a small bit of blood but this was A LOT. It ended up that I would pretty much just have 1 blood free week in the month. And at least 2 weeks of what essentially was as heavy as a period. (I have had ongoing issues with bleeding/spotting on contraceptive pills - no underlying issues - this bleeding ceased when I got the Mirena coil).

Lowdown user
Used for 3 - 5 years

Verified review  •  3 days ago


Dianette was recommended to me by a private dermatologist for acne. It completely cleared my skin and made it less oily; I stopped using foundation. Thanks to clear skin it ultimately improved my self-esteem. I don't have any physical side effects like with other pills I've tried in the past (eg. Cilest) which gave me bad headaches. It made my periods less heavy, no more period pain. I also like that I know exactly when my period is coming or can choose to skip it with continuous pill taking. I am aware of the increased risk of blood clots, but if you read the pamphlet carefully the risk increase is quite small. The downside is the GPs tend to be rather reluctant to prescribe it due to the this risk and have tried to convince me to alternatives. I've always stood my ground and demonstrated that I've researched other methods and am making an informed decision with Dianette.

Lowdown user
Used for 3 - 6 months

Verified review  •  1 week ago


This was a good pill although I did notice the side affects of my mood and libido they were much less extreme than using various other combined pills. Over all of the pills I have used this is probably the one which doesn’t affect my day to day life as much. I would recommend giving it a go if you are experiencing severe side effects from your current contraception. It’s not perfect by it’s a trusty middle ground!

Lowdown user
Used for 12 - 18 months

Verified review  •  1 week ago


I used this for quite a while and to be honest it seemed like it was alright. Did get a loss of libido and the occasional headache but other than that I felt it was fine. Although I have been trying different contraception and have recently gone back onto mercellion. Turns out it’s not as good as I thought. My moods are not good. I have a short temper on these and my anxiety is through the roof. It’s only when you come off something and come back a year later that actually you can tell a difference.

Lowdown user
Used for 12 - 18 months

Verified review  •  2 weeks ago


I really enjoyed this contraception having switched from progesterone only to the combined pill, however I did develop migraines with aura which I have previously never had in my life before which is the only reason I was advised to not take this pill/ type of pill any more. This is a shame as I had increased sex drive and regular periods and it did not cause me to have mood swings like the progesterone only pill.

Lowdown user
Used for 6 - 12 months

Verified review  •  2 weeks ago


this is the best pill I've tried! I did experience a little itching (feels like I have thrush) but it's only minor and is no where near as much as it was with other pills and after 4-6 months it seems to have disappeared. my periods are lighter and the pain is less but still painful. it is manageable though. no emotional side effects that I can notice. my skin is the same as it was when I wasn't on bc but that's okay.

Lowdown user
Used for 1 - 3 months

Verified review  •  2 weeks ago


I'm in peri and have unmanaged PMDD so I'm seeking relief from that. I tried Drovelis because in studies the estrogen showed less of an effect on the receptors in the breasts tissue compared to traditional EE estrogen. I can't tolerate hormonal BC because my breasts react so extremely to the estrogen. Unfortunately this pill caused the same issue. I had to buy a new bra cup size while on it and was in constant pain. I'm sharing my experience incase anyone else out there has these same sensitive breast issues and is looking for a pill. My other symptoms included fatigue that lasted throughout the day (I took it at bedtime) and weight gain in my midsection from water retention. I did not have increased appetite or decreased libido. My mood and sleep were unaffected.

Lowdown user
Used for 6 - 12 months

Verified review  •  2 weeks ago


Overall, very few side effects, most of which are positive. Decreased hair loss, good sking, non-painful bleeding during placebo days, reduces a bit the size of endometriomas. However, quite a lot of break-through bleeding (not spotting, serious bleeding while taking the horminal pills)

Don’t keep it on the DL.Put it on the LD.

Slide into our DMs

hello@thelowdown.com

LegitScript approved

Pharmacy services provided by Truepill Ltd.

CQC provider

GPhC reg number: 9011171

©The Lowdown 2022